Southampton reunion April 2024

The third SCARA reunion in Southampton took place on Thursday 18 April.  With the success of last year's curry lunch, there was a return to Everest Cuisine and the restaurant (which is close to Dock Gate 4 and just a few minutes walk from our old Dukes Keep and Richmond House offices) again didn't disappoint!

In total we had  49 former colleagues, partners and family shared memories and had a catch up on recent events.  A tribute was also paid to Julian Bevis who had led on the organisation of the first reunion in 2022 and had worked with Jim Baxter on the 2023 function.  Julian sadly passed away last December and was much missed on the day.

We had a first for a SCARA reunion at this event with two former colleagues from the USA!  Chris and Nancy Pinto who had worked in the East Rutherford and Santa Ana offices found that their UK holiday coincided with the event so jumped on a train from London to join us.    Proof positive that we were a global company and remain a global community of friends, despite 18 years having passed since P&O Nedlloyd ceased operation following the Maersk takeover. 

Photo right:  A toast to Julian, led by event organiser Jim Baxter

Another highlight for this year's event was a table of memorabilia which had been donated by Ian Thompson for sale in aid of SCARA funds.  Robert Woods also added to the collection on the table with a box of company-branded mugs.  A big thank you to Ian, his wife Joanne and Robert for their generosity. 

Thanks were expressed to Jim for organising this year's event (and a big thank you to Annie for again manning the reception desk).  

The feedback from the day has still to be analysed but as this is a growing and popular event, it seems extremely likely that we will be returned to Southampton in 2025!

Chris Anthony

Mary Anthony

Amanda Atherton

James Baxter

Annie Appleyard

Dawn Beardmore

Tony Beardmore

John T Blackmore

David Brace

Marilyn Braendeholm

Peder Brandenholm

Peter Brown

Tony Butt

Mike Chapman

Malcolm Coomer

David Cross

Gwynedd Davies

Peter Davies

Jenny Dyer

Simon Dyer

Dave Everly

Freda Forse

Colin Frederick

Nick Gaden

Denise Gaden

Malcolm Hurdidge

Deana Joyce

Gary Joyce

Geoff Lock

Susan Lock

Alison Loftin

H John Loftin

Tony Mason

William McLaughlin.

Victoria McLaughlin.

Chris Pinto

Nancy Pinto

Janet Phillips

Vicky Revill

Jerry Rickcord

Michael Seymour

Jacki Sisson

Richard Sisson

Les Swindells

Richard Thomas

Ian B Thomson

Joanne Thomson

Ed Van Dorp

Robert Woods CBE

Thanks go to everyone who provided the photographs that accompany this report, including Susan Lock along with Nancy and Chris Pinto.  A selection are shown above and in the 'image  carousel' on the right.  

To see the full set, please go to the PONL Southampton April 2024 Google Photos album (if you would like to see the names of the attendees in the pictures contained in the album, please click on the 'i' for information in the top right-hand corner of the screen).